Posted by: markfender | September 25, 2012

Damn you, Kickstarter!

Kickstarter is annoying me with its many fine offerings.

But I’m not

Because there’s too much stuff on there. As a poor college student with no source of income, I don’t get to participate in the overflowing of cool products and exclusives.

What especially gets me are the exclusives. Pledge so much and you get some nice shiny bling. The big thing now tends to be the tiers of backing are getting extras the more people donate to any tier. The recent ridiculously successful Reaper Bones Kickstarter is a good example. I don’t know how exactly it ended but at some point you were paying around $200 for about 200 miniatures of various sizes. That’s a stupidly good deal. Now, I don’t need any more miniatures, especially of the generic fantasy variety, but that’s quite the deal. It’s almost a shame to not receive pounds and pounds of metal in the mail.

Likewise, the new Relic Knights Kickstarter is packing so much into your pledge that, if you’re at all interested in this game (and I am), you’re missing out on a ridiculously good deal to pledge now. Except I have no money. If I were to eventually scrounge up some, the Kickstarter will be over and I’ll be stuck buying my plain and boring Relic Knight miniatures at retail prices with no neat extras. Damn.

Maybe it’s just my lack of cash that seems to be highlighting all these cool projects going on over there, but it definitely seems like I could spend a lot of money on cool new products. And it’s cool that these new projects are coming out and are finding funding. I just wish Kickstarter had been around five years ago when I could have actually participated.

Leave a Reply

Categories

