Posted by: markfender | March 26, 2013

Mountain Dew Kickstart

It’s time to do the Dew.

mountain-dew-kick-startThere’s some new Mountain Dew-branded beverage out. So I drank it. Because I will give money to anything that involves the word “Kickstart[er].” It’s supposed to be some sort of breakfast drink, which is bizarre. I guess a substitute for coffee? I don’t know. All I know is that it’s 5% juice and has way more caffeine than regular Mountain Dew, due to FDA restrictions on caffeine content in soda. It’s not as much as coffee, though, so what’s the point?

There are two flavors: Orange Citrus and Fruit Punch. Orange Citrus tastes almost like Mountain Dew Livewire, except without the sweetness of actual soda. And there’s no real juice component that you can taste really. But it is effervescent and, yes, my heart is racing. Mission accomplished, I guess.

Fruit Punch is better, but barely. It tastes vaguely like Mountain Dew Code Red but with an almost-aspartame aftertaste that sours quickly in the mouth. In fact, the Orange Citrus does a better job of hiding the almost-aspartame byproduct taste but, in retrospect, that is definitely the thing that was destroying the Livewire comparisons.

These are not good. There’s the potential for a decent idea, fizzy juice, but it ends up being just a variation on that guanine Red Bull flavor that’s making the rounds. That flavor is not good so I don’t know why MD is trying to replicate it. I would never pick either of these to drink as a “gee, I’m thirsty” product. I would choose them over Red Bull or Monster or any of those other hideous caffeine-delivery products. But I’d rather have tea. Or coffee.

Leave a Reply

Categories

