Posted by: markfender | April 15, 2014

How I Met Your Mother

How I Met Your Mother ended. Which has, of course, caused a giant riot on the internet.

who-is-the-mother-on-how-i-met-your-motherI’m not here to talk about that. Instead, at the news that the show was over, my immediate thought was “Oh, well maybe I should watch it now.” Because that’s what I do with most television shows – wait until they’re over.

Now, HIMYM is a sitcom, so it’s not exactly binge-worthy television. It’s more of a “well, I’m bored. Which season was I up to?” sort of show to watch. I have seen a few episodes in the past and thought it was generally funny.

Except, then I realized something. I watched those episodes back when they were first on, close to six or seven years ago. And television has changed a bit since then. For one, there’s no longer laugh tracks. Which HIMYM still has. And, frankly, I’m out of practice with handling a laugh track. I don’t watch any shows with a laugh track. I haven’t for years now. It’s an outdated cultural norm that makes it age poorly and, frankly, look stupid. So, despite the potential of the premise and the amusing situations, I can’t ever watch this show. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

Categories

