Posted by: markfender | July 21, 2015

Exalted Rules

Yep, it’s another post about Exalted. It will never end.

exaltedWhile I am planning on running Exalted, I am not planning on using the Exalted rule set. While I like the ideas the system espouses, I don’t much care for how it actually plays. Specifically, I hate making NPCs for the game. Because of how individual and distinct the Charms are, you can’t just handwave the abilities of an NPC and that’s pretty much the opposite of how I run.

So, I’m using Qwixalted instead. Qwixalted is based on the 1st edition Quick Start rules for Exalted, a bit of new World of Darkness, and a generic Charm creation system. It plays faster but keeps the basics of the system so that everyone isn’t needlessly confused.

That doesn’t mean it’s perfect, however. The Charms do tend to be a bit generic, which does remove that whole individual and distinct Charm thing that goes a long ways towards making each Exalted type distinct. I think it’s a good idea to base the generic Combos Qwixalted makes on the Charms from the actual Exalted book, just to make things a little more interesting.

Another thing that’s stopping me from using the original Exalted rules is the fact that they’re currently in limbo. Third edition has been coming out for several years now. In fact, I originally announced that I would run the game back when they first announced a third edition. And I’ve been waiting ever since. I could use 2nd edition but, as already expressed, I don’t much care for it. And eventually, I just stopped waiting. So, there might be a rule set out for the game I’m running. Maybe.

Better to just cut out the middleman and use another rule set.

Leave a Reply

Categories

