Posted by: markfender | January 20, 2016

I Love You

My family never mastered saying “I love you.”

i-love-u-so-much-images-and-wallpaper-2At least, at the end of conversations.

It’s pretty standard, I think, to express feelings of love at the end of phone conversations, especially between loved ones. I think the script is supposed to go like this:

“Okay, I’ll talk to you later.”

“Okay. Love you.”

“Love you, too.”

“Bye.”

“Bye.”

*click*

But that’s not how it happens with my family. Instead, it’s more like this:

“Okay, I’ll talk to you later.”

“Okay-love-you-bye.”

*click*

Somewhere in that conversation ender, I’m supposed to insert “love-you-too-bye” but I think people have already hung up by then. And so I’m never actually sure if anyone heard me or not. Our Midwestern awkwardness at expressing emotion strikes again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

